Carnegie Medal Winners

Book Shelf » Books for Children » Carnegie Medal Winners

The Carnegie Medal is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children.

It was established by The Library Association in Britain in 1936, in memory of the great Scottish-born philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919). Carnegie was a self-made industrialist who made his fortune in steel in the USA. His experience of using a library as a child led him to resolve that “if ever wealth came to me that it should be used to establish free libraries.” Carnegie set up more than 2800 libraries across the English speaking world and, by the time of his death, over half the library authorities in Great Britain had Carnegie libraries.

The Carnegie Medal was first awarded to Arthur Ransome for Pigeon Post. The medal is now awarded by CILIP: the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals, which is a new organisation formed by the Unification of the Institute of Information Scientists and The Library Association on 1 April 2002. The winner receives a golden medal and £500 worth of books to donate to a library of their choice.

A couple of pointers and comments about the list:

  • If the book is still in print, then you will see the link on the book title.
  • I haven’t read all these books and therefore can’t endorse them all; the books are here because they are medal winners in a list of medal winning books.
  • Some people prefer the older books which are more likely to deal with happier situations, and the more recent books are more likely to be dealing with controversial subjects, so check carefully before you buy.
  • Also, some of these books are definitely for older children (teens). Use your discretion in choosing.
  • Books go out of print very quickly, so if you like a book it is a good idea to grab it when it is available.

2009 Siobhan Dowd, Bog Child

2008 Philip Reeve, Here Lies Arthur

2007 Meg Rosoff, Just in Case

2005 Mal Peet, Tamar

2004 Frank Cottrell Boyce, Millions

2003 Jennifer Donnelly, A Gathering Light

2002 Sharon Creech, Ruby Holler

2001 Terry Pratchett, The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents

2000 Beverley Naidoo, The Other Side of Truth

1999 Aidan Chambers, Postcards From No Man’s Land

1998 David Almond, Skellig

1997 Tim Bowler, River Boy

1996 Melvin Burgess, Junk,

1994 Theresa Breslin, Whispers in the Graveyard,

1993 Robert Swindells, Stone Cold

1992 Anne Fine, Flour Babies

1991 Berlie Doherty, Dear Nobody

1990 Gillian Cross, Wolf

1989 Anne Fine, Goggle-eyes

1988 Geraldine McCaughrean, A Pack of Lies

1987 Susan Price, The Ghost Drum

1986 Berlie Doherty, Granny was a Buffer Girl

1985 Kevin Crossley-Holland, Storm

1984 Margaret Mahy, The Changeover

1983 Jan Mark, Handles

1982 Margaret Mahy, The Haunting

1981 Robert Westall, The Scarecrows

1980 Peter Dickinson, City of Gold

1979 Peter Dickinson, Tulku

1978 David Rees, The Exeter Blitz

1977 Gene Kemp, The Turbulent Term of Tyke Tiler

1976 Jan Mark, Thunder and Lightnings

1975 Robert Westall, The Machine Gunners

1974 Mollie Hunter, The Stronghold

1973 Penelope Lively, The Ghost of Thomas Kempe

1972 Richard Adams, Watership Down

1971 Ivan Southall, Josh

1970 Leon Garfield & Edward Blishen, The God Beneath the Sea,

1969 Kathleen Peyton, The Edge of the Cloud,

1968 Rosemary Harris, The Moon in the Cloud

1967 Alan Garner, The Owl Service

1966 Prize withheld as no book considered suitable

1965 Philip Turner, The Grange at High Force

1964 Sheena Porter, Nordy Bank

1963 Hester Burton, Time of Trial

1962 Pauline Clarke, The Twelve and the Genii

1961 Lucy M Boston, A Stranger at Green Knowe

1960 Dr I W Cornwall, The Making of Man

1959 Rosemary Sutcliff, The Lantern Bearers

1958 Philippa Pearce, Tom’s Midnight Garden

1957 William Mayne, A Grass Rope

1956 C S Lewis, The Last Battle

1955 Eleanor Farjeon, The Little Bookroom

1954 Ronald Welch (Felton Ronald Oliver), Knight Crusader

1953 Edward Osmond, A Valley Grows Up

1952 Mary Norton, The Borrowers

1951 Cynthia Harnett, The Woolpack

1950 Elfrida Vipont Foulds, The Lark on the Wing

1949 Agnes Allen, The Story of Your Homer

1948 Richard Armstrong, Sea Change

1947 Walter De La Mare, Collected Stories for Children

1946 Elizabeth Goudge, The Little White Horse

1945 Prize withheld as no book considered suitable

1944 Eric Linklater, The Wind on the Moon

1943 Prize withheld as no book considered suitable

1942 ‘BB’ (D J Watkins-Pitchford), The Little Grey Men

1941 Mary Treadgold, We Couldn’t Leave Dinah

1940 Kitty Barne, Visitors from London

1939 Eleanor Doorly, Radium Woman

1938 Noel Streatfield, The Circus is Coming

1937 Eve Garnett, The Family from One End Street

1936 Arthur Ransome, Pigeon Post